what is spider logo

Texas Driver's Ed
You Will LOVE IT Here...

S.P.I.D.E.R. Method™ Play Course Demo

Meet Our Recent Graduates

Customer Reviews

See Why Over 4 Million Drivers Made Us The #1 Choice in a Driving School Course

testimonial image josh
"Great lessons, absolutely helped me to pass with flying colors!!!" Josh Place

Choose Texas Approved Drivers Education that is Right for You

Ages 14-17

Parent-Taught Driver’s Ed

Regular $120
$59.95 SAVE 50%
Learn to drive with help from a parent. Complete 100% online and learn your learners permit after you finish the first learning module and pass the quiz, allowing you to complete 44 hours of required driving practice with your parents.

You will still have an option to complete some of the required classes with a driving school. Click Here to Find the Best Driving School in your area.

Ages 14-17

Self-Taught Driver’s Ed

Regular $95
$59.95 SAVE 37%
Prefer to learn solo?
You can start the course online immediately and will qualify for your learner’s permit after completing the first course chapter. Complete the required driving practice with a driving school or with a parent or guardian.

To Find the Best Driving School in Your Area, Click Here
Ages 18+

Adult Drivers Ed

Regular $69.95
$34.95 SAVE 50%
Texas law requires all new drivers ages 18 to 25 to complete an adult driver’s ed course. This course is the easiest online course allowed by Texas law and meets the requirements of the TDLR to get your permit and can be completed 100% online. Many driver license offices allow our graduates to skip the written test for their license, but check with your local DPS office to make sure.

To Find Best Driving School in Your Area, Click Here

How Drivers Ed Works

1
Register with IMPROV
Our Parent-Taught Driver’s Education (PTDE) course is state-accredited, TxDPS-approved, and blends fun with learning to create the perfect course for your teen. Sign up with us to get started.
2
Get your PTDE Program Guide
After you register with us, we’ll send you everything you need to get started. We’ll send you the info for purchasing the Parent-Taught Driver’s Education (PTDE) Program Guide packet directly from the TDLR (Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation). Now you and your teen are good to go!
3
Pass the written test
Once your teen completes six hours of our online course, they’ll get their Learner’s Permit.
4
Pick up your Learner’s Permit
The moment your teen passes the written test, they’ll get the Learner Permit.
5
Finish the course and driving hours
Now that your teen has the Learner Permit, they can start the behind-the-wheel training with you by their side. Concurrently, they’ll complete the remaining portion of our online course and take the final quiz. We give you unlimited free attempts to pass, so there’s no way to fail. This will be a breeze!
6
Get your new Texas Driver’s License
And now for the cake! Once the coursework and driving are completed, you’ll make one last visit to the license office to take the driving test. Time to be a proud parent to a new safe and knowledgeable Texas Driver. Congratulations!
1
Register with IMPROV
Our Texas Adult Driver Education Course is state-accredited, TxDPS-approved, blends entertainment with cutting-edge education to create the perfect course. Sign up with us to get started today!
2
Complete your Course
After registering, you can access our fully online 6-hour Adult Driver Education Course. You can complete this course on your own time and from any device!
3
Take the written and road tests
After completing the course, you can apply for a learner permit by taking the written exam or skip your permit altogether and apply directly for your driver license. You must pass the written and road tests to be eligible to receive your license.
4
Pick up your permit or license.
After completing the written and road exams, you will be eligible for your full, unrestricted Texas Driver License! Time to enjoy the open road!
1
Register with IMPROV
Our Texas Self-Taught Driver Education Course is state-accredited, TxDPS-approved, blends entertainment with cutting-edge education to create the perfect course. Sign up with us to get Texas drivers ed online started today!
2
Get your Learner Permit
After completing the first 6 hours of course instruction, you will be eligible to receive your learner permit after a written exam. Visit your local DPS to obtain your permit.
3
Complete the Course
You will then need to complete both the online course and the required supervised driving hours with a licensed instructor, parent, or guardian.
4
Get Your License
After completing the course and required supervised driving hours, your last step is to head to your local Texas DPS location to complete your road test. Pass that, and you’re ready for your official, unrestricted Texas Driver License! Congrats!

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQs for Parent-Taught Drivers Ed (Age 14–17)

Is your course approved by the TDLR and TxDPS?

Yes. We are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS). You will receive an official certificate of completion at the end of course.

How is TX Parent-Taught Driver’s Ed (PTDE) different from TX driver’s ed?

The main difference between these courses is that your parent or guardian teaches you the required behind-the-wheel training in TX Parent-Taught Driver’s Education. You do not have to pay an outside instructor for driving school when you choose TX PTDE.

What is a PTDE Program Guide/packet?

The Parent Taught Driver Ed (PTDE) program guide/packet contains various forms that must be filled out before starting the course.

Do I need to receive the PTDE packet before I start the PTDE course?

Yes, per Texas state regulations, the parents or students must order and receive the packet before they start the PTDE course. Once you register with us, we will guide you through the entire process.

How long is the course?

The online portion of the course is 32 hours. State regulations require that a maximum of two hours can be spent per day on this. Students are also required to spend 44 hours in behind-the-wheel driving lessons.

Who is eligible to take this course?

If your son or daughter is older than 14 years, they are eligible to take this course. They’ll need to complete a state-approved driver’s education course, and our online course fulfills all the Texas DPS driver’s education requirements!

Am I (the parent or guardian) eligible to teach this course?

You’ll be eligible if you are a parent, stepparent, grandparent, step-grandparent, foster parent, or legal guardian of the teen. You should not have a DWI point on your record, a suspended license in the past 3 years, or more than 6 points on your driving record.

What if the student doesn’t have an eligible parent or guardian?

You (parent or guardian) or a judge can designate a person to instruct the course as long as they are over 25 years old, do not charge a fee for conducting the course, and have at least seven years of driving experience. If your teen doesn’t have an eligible parent, guardian, or instructor, they will have to take the behind-the-wheel portion of the course with a driving school or take an instructor-taught driver’s ed course.

Are there any quizzes in this course?

Yes. There is a brief, multiple-choice quiz at the end of each chapter which the student must pass to proceed to the next chapter. The quizzes are designed to help students prepare for the permit exam and will not count against the final course score.

Can we fail a quiz?

No, you cannot fail! You get UNLIMITED free attempts to pass each quiz.

How many chapters are there?

There are 12 chapters in this course.

Are there any state-enforced time requirements?

Yes, there are state-enforced time requirements. Students can only spend 2 hours a day on the course. Once a student has spent 2 hours in the course, they will have to wait until the following day to continue.

Does this course include the DPS written exam?

After completing six hours of the online course, you must go to the DPS to take the written exam to get your learner permit.

When do we complete the behind-the-wheel hours?

You can start the behind-the-wheel training once you complete the first six chapters (six hours) of the course. Students may apply for a learner permit after six hours of instruction. Once you obtain the permit, students must complete the remaining 26 hours of instruction while completing in-car training with you (parent or guardian). Make sure you log these hours in the Behind-the-Wheel Practice Log of the PTDE Program Guide/packet.

What happens next?

After you complete the TX PTDE course and driving lessons, then pass your driving test, you become Texas state’s newest licensed driver!

FAQs for Teen Course Driver’s Ed (Age 14–17)

Are you approved by the TDLR and TxDPS?

Yes. We are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS). You will receive an official certificate of completion at the end of course.

How long is the course?

The online portion of the course is 32 hours. State regulations require that a maximum of two hours can be spent per day on this. Students are also required to spend 44 hours behind-the-wheel driving lessons.

Who is eligible to take this course?

If your son or daughter is older than 14 years, they are eligible to take this course. They’ll need to complete a state-approved driver’s education course, and our online course fulfills all the Texas DPS driver’s education requirements!

Are there any state-enforced time requirements?

Yes, there are state-enforced time requirements. Students can only spend 2 hours a day on the course. Once a student has spent 2 hours in the course, they will have to wait until the following day to continue.

Does this course include the DPS written exam?

After completing six hours of the online course, you must go to the DPS to take the written exam to get your learner permit.

When do we complete the behind-the-wheel hours?

You can start the behind-the-wheel training once you complete the first six chapters (six hours) of the course. Students may apply for a learner permit after six hours of instruction. Once you obtain the permit, students must complete the remaining 26 hours of instruction while completing in-car training with you (parent or guardian). Make sure you log these hours in the Behind-the-Wheel Practice Log of the PTDE Program Guide/packet.

FAQs for Adult Driver’s Ed (Age 18+)

Are you approved by the TDLR and TxDPS?

Yes. We are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) and the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS). You will receive an official certificate of completion at the end of course.

Who is eligible to take Texas Adult Driver Education?

Any Texas driver between 18 and 25 that have not yet gotten a driver’s license is eligible for this course. However, this course is recommended for new drivers of any age!

How long is this course?

This course fulfills the 6 hour classroom requirement to get a Texas Driver’s License.

Does this course include the DPS written exam?

It depends! Many driver license offices allow our graduates to skip the written test for their license, but check with your local DPS office to make sure.

Is this course fully online and accessible from any device?

Yes! Our Texas Adult Driver Education Course is 100% online, and accessible from any device.

Is behind-the-wheel training required for this course?

No. New drivers in Texas 18 and older are not required to complete behind-the-wheel training in addition to classroom instruction.

FLASH DEAL OFFER
Start Now
FLASH DEAL
Start Now