Idaho Learner's Permit and Driver’s License

GDL requirements

Full Privilege Minimum Age
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)
14 years, 6 months
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction
Sunset to sunrise
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)
No more than 1 passenger younger than 17

How to Get a Idaho Driver’s License

The Idaho Graduated Driver License program, or GDL, will give you time to learn how to drive in a controlled way. There are three stages to this program, from no Idaho license to a full license.

Completing the Idaho GDL takes about a year. First you’ll complete an Idaho DMV approved driver training course for your Driver Training Permit. Then, 50 hours of supervised driving for an Idaho driver’s license. Drive with it until you’re 17, and your restrictions will be lifted for your full Idaho license.

The steps below have the details you’ll need to know in order to get your full, unrestricted Idaho license.

Get Your Idaho Driver Training Permit

You can start the process to get your Idaho license at 14 and a half. To get ready for driving, you can download the Idaho Driver’s Handbook and start reading through it. At your local DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) location, you’ll need to fill out an application, bring in proof of identity, and pay a fee of $20 by debit card or check.

Before being issued your ID driver training permit, you’ll have to pass a vision screening.

You will be given an official paper which is your driver’s permit. You’ll need to have that with you every time you’re behind the wheel.

You have to have your Idaho permit for at least 6 months before you can apply for a regular license. During that time, you’ll need to have 50 hours driving practice with 10 hours of those being at night. There are also limits to your Idaho driver training permit and they are:

  • The supervising driver must be at least 21 years of age and possess a valid driver’s license.
  • The supervising driver must sit in the seat beside the permit holder.
  • No other passengers are allowed in the front seat.
  • The permit must be in the permit holder’s possession while driving.
  • All occupants must wear seat belts or child safety restraints.
  • The permit holder must observe all laws regarding the use of alcohol and other intoxicating substances.

This is the point also where you’ll need to get driving instruction. The options for this include an Idaho DMV approved driver education class or supervised practice with a responsible adult 21 years or older.

An Idaho DMV approved driver education class consists of 30 hours of classroom instruction, six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and six hours in-car observation.

When you’re ready to enroll in driver education, find a driving school to get started.

Once you’ve completed the required amount of instruction, you can apply for your Idaho driver’s license.

Get Your Idaho Driver’s License

Receiving your Idaho license requires that you’ve completed certain requirements. Those are reaching the age of 15 years old.

Written Knowledge Test: Before you can take the road test, you’ll need to pass the Idaho DMV written knowledge test. This test consists of 40 questions, and you need to get 85% or higher to pass. If you fail this test, you must wait three days before trying again, and you will be required to pay the fee again. Consider working through some practice exams before you take it.

Driving Skills Test: You will be required to pass a driving test with a DMV evaluator who will make sure you can perform basic driving tasks safely.

Before you take it, you should check out The Top 10 Automatic Fails on Driver Tests, so you’ll know what not to do on test day.

Once you’re ready, you can schedule a driving skills exam at your nearest Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles. Before you take the test, you should check out the Top 10 Automatic Fails on Driver Tests, so you’ll know what not to do on test day.

If you fail this test, you can retake it after three days.

Vision Test: You will need to take a vision test. If you need glasses be sure you’re wearing them.

The application fee for your license is $30.

Your Idaho license will be mailed to you and will have your photograph on it. They take your picture the day you pass your driving skills test. This license will come with the following restrictions:

  • No other passengers are allowed in the front seat.
  • Licensees under the age of 17 are required—during the first six (6) months from the date the license was issued—to limit number of passengers in the vehicle who are under the age of 17 to not more than one passenger, unless the passengers are related to the driver by blood, adoption, or marriage.

As you continue to learn how to operate a motor vehicle in different conditions, there are certain hours when you won’t be able to drive. Those are:

  • Drivers under the age of 16 are restricted to driving during daylight hours only unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and sitting beside the driver.

Getting Your Idaho Unrestricted Full License

At a certain point, the state feels that you’ve been able to receive enough supervised driving experience that you can go out on your own. Therefore, once you reach 17 years old and have had your restricted license for 6 months, you can get your full Idaho license.

This means that previous restrictions are lifted. However, you will not receive an updated Idaho license until that one expires. After you renew your Idaho license, you will receive your full, unrestricted license in the mail.

Whether you’ve just finished your Idaho graduated licensing process, or are just starting out, you might also want to consider a telematic companion application to better understand your driving habits, and how to improve them.

The best option is the DriverZ Virtual Coach. Download it today and sharpen your S.P.I.D.E.R.Senses™ to build the driving skills that will keep you safe for a lifetime, track your supervised driving hours, and access bespoke driver training based on your specific needs.

Frequently asked questions

Here are answers to some common questions you might have as you start out on your ID licensing journey.

Can I drive with an out-of-state instructional permit in Idaho?

Idaho does allow drivers to travel through the state with permits from other states, as long as the parameters of the out-of-state permit are followed and the permit is always in the immediate possession of the driver.

Can I replace a lost or stolen learner’s permit?

You can replace a lost or stolen learner’s permit by printing and filling out the Internet Application for Replacement Idaho Driver’s License or ID Card and visiting your nearest Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles branch and presenting identification documents.

Idaho Transportation Department information

For comprehensive information on everything related to the Idaho graduated licensing program, visit the Idaho Department of Vehicles. You can also call 1-303-205-5600 Monday – Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Prepare for your license journey by reviewing the Idaho Driver’s Handbook, and taking a few practice tests