Florida Learner's Permit and Driver’s License

GDL requirements

Checkmark
Full Privilege Minimum Age
18
Checkmark
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)
15
Checkmark
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)
12
Checkmark
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)
16
Checkmark
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction
11 p.m. – 6 a.m. at 16 years old; 1 a.m. – 5 a.m. for 17 year olds
Checkmark
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)
No restrictions

How to Get a Florida Driver’s License

Florida has a Graduated Driver License program that will give you time to learn how to drive in a controlled way. There are three stages to this program, from no license to full license.

The Florida GDL will take you at least a year. Apply for your learner’s license at 15. Complete a TLSAE course, written exam, and 50 supervised driving hours to apply for your restricted license. Drive with it for 12 months, and when you turn 18 you can get your full Florida driver’s license.

The steps below have the details you’ll need to know to get your full, unrestricted license.

Get your Florida learner’s license

You can start the process to get your license at 15 years old. To get ready for driving, you can download the Florida Driver’s Handbook and start reading through it. At your local FLHSMV location, you’ll need to fill out an application, bring in proof of identity, and pay a fee of $48 by debit card or check.

If you’re a brand new Florida driver, you will also need to have taken a four-hour FLHSMV approved Traffic Law & Substance Abuse (TLSAE) course to apply for your FL learner’s license.

When you’re ready to go to take your FLHSMV approved TLSAE course, find a driving school to get started.

Your parent or guardian will also have to complete a parental consent form.

In addition to the fee, and TLSAE course, you will also have to pass vision and knowledge exams, so be sure to bring your corrective lenses if you use them.

The Florida Class E Knowledge Exam covers information found in the Florida Driver’s Handbook, with a focus on traffic laws and traffic signs.

When it comes to taking this exam, you have options. You can opt to take it online. If you do your parent or guardian will have to complete a Parent Proctoring Form so that they can administer your test.

You can choose to take it in person when you submit your proof of identity and take your vision test.

Finally, your high school driver education program may provide the Florida Class E Knowledge Exam through a program known as the Driver Education Licensing Assistant Program, or DELAP.

The exam is 50 questions in total. You’ll have to answer 40 questions correctly to pass. Before test day, consider taking a few practice tests.

While you’re allowed to retake the test until you pass, you’re only allowed to fail 3 times online. After that you’ll need to take your exam in person at your local FLHSMV location.

Once you’ve got your TLSAE course, application, and vision and knowledge tests completed, you will be given an official paper which is your Florida learner’s license. You’ll need to have that with you every time you’re behind the wheel.

You must have your permit for at least 12 months before you can apply for a regular Florida driver’s license. During that time, you’ll need to have 50 hours driving practice with 10 hours of those being at night. There are also limits to your permit and they are as follows:

  • At all times you must be accompanied by a licensed driver in the front passenger seat. This driver must be 21 years of age or older.
  • For the first 3 months after the date you received your permit, you can only drive during daylight hours.
  • After the first 3 months, you may drive between the hours of 6:00 am and 10:00 pm.

Once you’ve completed the required amount of supervised driving time, you can apply for your driver’s license. Have your parent or guardian complete the Florida Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form, or a 71143, once you’ve completed your driving hours.

Get your Florida restricted license

Receiving your Florida driver’s license requires that you’ve completed certain requirements. Those are reaching 16 years of age, successfully holding your Florida learner’s license in good standing for 12 months and have your completed 71143 Minor Experience form.

The application fee for your license is $48

Driving Skills Test: You will be required to pass a driving test with a FLHSMV evaluator who will make sure you can perform basic driving tasks safely.

Before you take it, you should check out the Top 10 Automatic Fails on Driver Tests, so you’ll know what not to do on test day.

If you fail your road test the first time, you’ll have to schedule another and pay a $20 retest fee.

For more information on everything you need to know about FHSMV testing, including what you’ll encounter on the exams as well as everything you’ll need to bring, check out MyIMRPOV’s comprehensive FLHSMV testing guide.

Vision Test: You will need to take a vision test. If you need glasses be sure you’re wearing them.

Your Florida driver’s license will be mailed to you and will have your photograph on it. They take your picture the day you pass your driving skills test. This license will come with the following restrictions:

If you are under the age of 18, the following rules apply to getting your Florida driver’s license. A regular driver’s license, also known as a Class E license, requires the following:

  • You’ve had no moving traffic citations within 12 months of the issuance of your permit. (You may have 1 traffic violation where adjudication is withheld. Adjudication withheld is when you are not convicted of the offense, while still being held guilty).
  • For the first 3 months after the date you received your permit, you can only drive during daylight hours.
  • Your parent or legal guardian, or a responsible adult 21 years or older, has certified you’ve completed at least 50 hours of driving experience, including 10 hours at night.
  • You must pass a driving test.

As you continue to learn how to operate a motor vehicle in different conditions, there are certain hours when you won’t be able to drive. Those are:

  • Drivers 16 years of age cannot drive between hours of 11pm-6am unless driving to and from work or accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years or older
  • Drivers 17 years of age cannot drive between hours of 1am-5am unless driving to and from work or accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years or older

Get your full unrestricted FL driver’s license

At a certain point, the state feels that you’ve been able to receive enough supervised driving experience that you can go out on your own. Therefore, once you reach 18 years old and have had your restricted license in good standing for 12 months from the date you were issued your learner’s license, you can get your full Florida driver’s license.

This means that previous restrictions no longer apply. However, you will not receive an updated license until that one expires. After you renew your license, you will receive your full, unrestricted Florida driver’s license in the mail.

Whether you’ve just finished your Florida graduated licensing process, or are just starting out, you might also want to consider a telematic companion application to better understand your driving habits, and how to improve them.

The best option is the DriverZ Virtual Coach. Download it today to sharpen your S.P.I.D.E.R.Senses™ to build the driving skills that will keep you safe for a lifetime, track your supervised driving hours, and access bespoke driver training based on your specific needs.

Frequently asked questions

Here are answers to some common questions you might have as you start out on your FL graduated licensing journey:

Can I drive with an out of state learner’s permit in Florida?

You may drive in Florida with an out of state learner’s permit, but you are subject to all learner’s license restrictions.

Can I change the personal information on my learner’s or driver’s license?

You may change personal information such as your name, but you must have already done so with the Federal Social Security Administration.

FLHSMV information

For comprehensive information on everything related to the Florida graduated licensing program, visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles You can also call 1-800-777-0133 between 8am to 5pm on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, or 9am to 5 pm on Wednesdays.

Prepare for your license journey by taking some practice tests after reviewing the Florida Driver’s License Handbook.